Access authorization must be granted for each channel managed via the SocialHub. This automatically happens during the connection process of the channel. For Facebook and Instagram, access authorizations sometimes expire. As a result, the SocialHub will no longer be able to publish posts or post replies for the channel. You will then receive an error message saying that the channel's access authorization needs to be renewed.
Does the post contain a link to Facebook?
If you see this error message in the Content Planner, it may also be because you try to publish a post containing a link to a Facebook event or other Facebook page. Unfortunately, the Facebook API is rather special in this respect. Everything related to events was restricted by Facebook in April 2018 as a result of a privacy scandal, so they can no longer be posted via the API. But links to other content such as groups or pictures can also be problematic and may be rejected.
If this is the case for you, the post must be posted directly on Facebook. If this is not the case, follow the instructions below.
Do you have admin privileges?
If you have admin privileges for the SocialHub and the channel (the associated Facebook page or Instagram account), you can renew the channel yourself.
If you don't have admin privileges either for the SocialHub or the Facebook page or Instagram account, send the link to this page to one of your colleagues who has both.
What do I need to do?
Find the affected channel in Account > Channels, remove it by clicking the button labeled with the recycle bin icon and re-add it afterwards. Don't worry, no data will be lost. While the channel is disconnected, the corresponding posts and tickets will be hidden. But as soon as the channel is reconnected, they reappear.
Do you have feedback / suggestions or do you experience difficulties using the information provided here?
Contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we will try to help you as soon as possible.